Skip to content

LGA PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

MISSION STATEMENT

  • Oversee production and review of the LGA Handbook of Virginia Local Government Law, including new and revised chapters and annual updates produced by LGA’s Handbook editor. Tasks include: (a) advising the board regarding what chapters should be revised, added, or deleted from the handbook; (b) making recommendations to the board regarding the compensation requested by the contract editor; and (c) selecting and approving authors and reviewers for the handbook.
     
  • Serve as a sounding board for the National Legal Research Group, Inc. (NLRG) on issues affecting the LGA’s monthly newsletter, the Bill of Particulars, and advise the board, on request, on such issues.
     
  • When requested by the board, prepare (a) handbook budget estimates (revenues and expenses), working with the administrative director; and (b) handbook requests for proposals (RFPs) for editorial services, evaluating the proposals received and recommending a contractor for board selection.
     
  • Investigate special topics as requested by the board.
     
  • Prepare special initiatives, as requested or approved by the board, such as a marketing plan for enlarging the audience for the Handbook.
     
  • Develop, and periodically review and update, policies and procedures for handling all aspects of LGA's Handbook production, submitting to the board of directors for approval and inclusion in the LGA's Policies and Procedures Catalogue.

    LGA Policy Guidelines for the Publications Committee

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBER APPOINTMENT TERM
Dori E. Martin, Chair
City of Alexandria
dori.martin@alexandriava.gov
703-746-3750
Ending 12.31.16
1st Term
Tara A. McGee
Vice Chair & board liaison
Chesterfield County
mcgeet@chesterfield.gov
804-748-1491
Ending 12.31.16
2nd Term
Elizabeth S. Chupik
City of Virginia Beach
echupik@vbgov.com
757-385-4531
Ending 12.31.17
1st Term
Sheri A. Hiter
Elliott Lawson & Minor, P.C.
sahiter@elliottlawson.com
(276) 466-8400
Ending 12.31.17
1st Term
Jeffrey S. Gore
Hefty Wiley & Gore
jeff@heftywiley.com
804-780-3143
Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term
Ruth Ellen Kuhnel
Roanoke County
rekuhnel@roanokecountyva.gov

540-772-2071
Ending 12.31.17
1st Term
Brandi Law
City of Hampton
brandi.law@hampton.gov
757-727-6174
Ending 12.31.16
2nd Term
Lisa A. Robertson
City of Charlottesville
robertsonl@charlottesville.org
434-970-3131
Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term
Deborah K. Siegel
Prince William County
dsiegel@pwcgov.org
703-792-6620
Ending 12.31.16
1st Term
Patrick J. Skelley
County of Bedford
p.skelley@bedfordcountyva.gov

540-587-5699
Ending 12.31.17
1st Term
Susan Warriner Custer
LGA Administrative Director
Ex officio, susan.custer@lgava.org
Ex Officio
Billie E. Easton
Liaison to LGA, U.Va Cooper Center
Ex officio, bee2u@virginia.edu
Ex Officio