Skip to content

LGA LAW SCHOOL LIAISON AND SCHOLARSHIP COMMMITEE

MISSION STATEMENT

  • The Law School Liaison and Conference Scholarship Committee conducts outreach to promote the practice of Virginia local government law to future lawyers. Our goals are to build stronger relationships between the local government community and accredited law schools in the Commonwealth and the District of Columbia, to make students aware of our practice area as a career option, and to attract promising young lawyers to our localities and firms. Committee members act as a resource to their assigned law school for career services communications, student mentoring, career panels, and other committee initiatives. 

  • As a part of this mission, the committee administers a program that awards scholarships to law students and qualifying recent law school graduates seeking careers in local government law (fellows) to attend LGA conferences and regional seminars. Committee members serve as “buddies” for scholarship attendees to facilitate participation in CLE sessions and social events. The scholarship program provides a total of ten law student and two fellow scholarships per conference or seminar. 

 LGA Policy Guidelines for the Law School Liaison and Scholarship Committee

LAW SCHOOL LIAISON AND SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE

APPOINTMENT TERM

Sheri A. Hiter, chair
Elliott Lawson & Minor P.C.
sahiter@elliottlawson.com
276-466-8400

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term

Laura M. Carini, vice-chair
City of Roanoke
laura.carini@roanokeva.gov
540-853-2431

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term

Bonnie N. Brown
City of Hampton
bonnie.brown@hampton.gov
757-727-6127

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term

Andrew A. Gore
City of Charlottesville
gorea@charlottesville.org
434-970-3131

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term

Maxwell C. Hlavin
James City County
Maxwell.Hlavin@jamescitycountyva.gov
757-253-6610

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term

Denise M. Letendre 
Henrico County
let004@henrico.us
804-501-4337

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term

Susan M. McKenney 
City of Richmond
Susan.McKenney@richmondgov.com
804-646-7947

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term

Lola Rodriguez Perkins
Board liaison
City of Hampton
lrperkins@hampton.gov
757-728-5172

Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term

Zachary A. Simmons
City of Norfolk
zachary.simmons@norfolk.gov
757-664-4529

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term

Susan D. Stout
Arlington County
sstout@arlingtonva.us
703-228-3100

Ending 12.31.16
1st Term