Skip to content

LGA ETHICS COMMITTEE

MISSION STATEMENT

  • Develop CLE programs on legal ethics for LGA members.
     
  • Offer informal advice to LGA members on ethical issues; proactively survey and respond to LGA members' listserv inquiries that deal with ethics questions.
     
  • Anticipate ethical issues affecting local government law.
     
  • Review and recommend changes, when appropriate, to the Code of Professional Responsibility.
     
  • Serve as liaison with the Virginia State Bar Department of Professional Regulation, its standing committees on (a) Legal Ethics and (b) the Unauthorized Practice of Law, and (c) any special committees studying revisions to the rules governing professional responsibility.

 LGA Policy Guidelines for the Ethics Committee

ETHICS COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBER

APPOINTMENT TERM

Andrew H. Herrick, Chair
Albemarle County
aherrick@albemarle.org
434-972-4067
Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term
Elizabeth D. Whiting, Vice Chair
Town of Lovettsville
lizwhiting745516@cs.com
703-777-6808
Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term
John C. Blair
Albemarle County
jblair@albemarle.org
434-972-4067
Ending 12.31.17
1st Term
James W. Elliott Jr. 
Elliott Lawson & Minor P.C.
jelliott@elliottlawson.com
276-466-8400
Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term
Wahaj Memon
Prince William County
wmemon@pwcgov.org
703-792-6626
Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term
Mark C. Popovich, board liaison
Isle of Wight County
mpopovich@isleofwightus.net
757-365-1641
Ending 12.31.17
1st Term
Patrick J. Skelley II
Bedford County 
p.skelley@bedfordcountyva.gov
540-587-5699
Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term
Dan N. Whitten
Warren County
dwhitten@warrencountyva.net
540-636-6674
Ending 12.31.17
2nd Term