Skip to content

LGA Conference Committee

Purposes

  • Identifies conference theme and program topics and obtains speakers for each fall and spring CLE conference.
     
  • Works with the board of directors in identifying and obtaining conference sponsors.
     
  • Assists the LGA program coordinator and other Cooper Center staff in coordinating conference activities with the host locality/localities.
     
  • Informally advises the LGA program coordinator and other Cooper Center staff in carrying out the logistics and all other phases of the conference.

Members

  • The president appoints a new conference committee for each fall and spring CLE conference. Either the chair or the vice-chair (or alternately, the co-chair) of each conference committee is always a board member. One member of the conference committee generally shall be from the geographic region where the conference is held, wherever feasible.

LGA Policy Guidelines for the Conference Committee

LGA Policy Guidelines for the Sponsorships

2016 FALL CONFERENCE COMMITTEE

Michelle Gowdy, Chair 
VML General Counsel
mgowdy@vml.org
804-523-8525

Mark C. Popovich, Vice Chair & Board Liaison
County of Isle Wight
mpopovich@isleofwightus.net
757-365-1641
James E. Barnett
York County Attorney
jbarnett@yorkcounty.gov
757-890-3340
John C. Blair II
Albemarle Senior Assistant County Attorney
jblair@albemarle.org
434-972-4067
Adam R. Kinsman
James City County Attorney
adam.kinsman@jamescitycountyva.gov
757-253-6802
Susan M. McKenney
Richmond Assistant City Attorney
susan.mckenney@richmondgov.com
804-646-7947
Jeffrey L. Mincks
Chesterfield County Attorney
mincksj@chesterfield.gov
804-748-1491
Lucy E. Phillips
Washington County Attorney
lphillips@washcova.com
276-525-1370
Jan L. Proctor
City of Chesapeake
jproctor@cityofchesapeake.net
757-382-6586
Joseph P. Rapisarda Jr.
Henrico County Attorney
rap@henrico.us
804-501-4342
Sterling E. Rives III
Hanover County Attorney
srives@hanovercounty.gov
804-365-6035
Christina W. Shelton
Williamsburg City Attorney
cshelton@williamsburgva.gov
757-220-6253
Rhysa G. South
Henrico Senior Assistant County Attorney
sou06@henrico.us
804-501-4342
Dan N. Whitten
Warren Assistant County Attorney
dwhitten@warrencountyva.net
540-636-6674