Skip to content Skip to navigation

LGA Cherin Award


LGA's A. Robert Cherin Award for an Outstanding Deputy or Assistant Local Government Attorney honors a deputy or assistant local government attorney who has demonstrated distinguished public service that has enhanced the image of local government attorneys in the Commonwealth and reflects a personal commitment to the highest ethical and professional principles. This award was established in 1994 and renamed in the fall of 2000 to honor Bob Cherin, a long-time LGA member after his untimely death in August 2000. Bob had served for 25 years in the Fairfax County Attorney's Office when he retired as Deputy County Attorney in September 1998.


The nominee shall have served as a deputy or assistant city, town, or county attorney for at least 10 years. Service need not be with the same local government, and consecutive service is not required.


The nominee shall have demonstrated distinguished service as a deputy or assistant city, county or town attorney; the nominee's public service shall have enhanced the image of local government attorneys in the Commonwealth; and the nominee shall have demonstrated personal commitment to the highest ethical and professional principles.


Possible recipients for the award will be considered every year, but the LGA reserves the right not to give the award during any year when it believes there is no qualified recipient. The award, when given, is presented at the LGA spring conference.


Each year the LGA awards committee will solicit nominations from the entire LGA membership in The Bill of Particulars prior to the LGA spring conference. To be considered for the award, an individual must be nominated by the city, town, or county attorney currently employing the nominee. The committee will consider those nominations received and recommend a nominee for consideration by the LGA board of directors, along with a detailed rationale for its recommendation. The board of directors will select the recipient from the nominee(s) recommended by the committee.


If you would like to make a nomination for this award, please  contact the LGA Awards  & Recognitions Committee Chair. Please state the reason(s) you believe the nominee(s) should receive the award along with any other pertinent information. Specific deadlines for submission of nominations will be published at appropriate times throughout the year in issues of the Bill of Particulars and on the LGA website.

Past Recipients

George A. McAndrews2018
Ara L. Tramblian2017
Bernadette S. Peele2016
G. Gregory Kamptner2015
J.T. Tokarz2014
Stylian P. Parthemos2013
Ellen F.M. Posner2012
Eleanor A. Putnam Dunn2011
Karen M. Adams2010
Cynthia B. Hall2009
William M. Macali2008
Beverly A. Burton2007
Jan L. Proctor2006
Rhysa G. South2005
Leo P. Rogers2004
Joyce M. Coleman2003
Barbara M. Rose2002
[No award given]2001
Michael H. Long2000
William X. Parsons1999
John E. Oliver1998
Jeffrey L. Mincks1997
[No award given]1996
Harold P. Juren1995
John L. Knight1994