LGA CONFERENCE POLICY COMMITTEE

Mission statement

  • Consult with U.Va. and Cooper Center staff, as needed, on contract negotiations.
  • Review all conference hotel contracts.
  • Make recommendations to the LGA Board of Directors on various other conference policy issues.

ongoing objectives

  • Make recommendations to the board concerning LGA’s conference policies and procedures as set forth in the policies and procedures (P&P) catalogue.
  • Routinely review all future conference hotel contracts and consult with the Weldon Cooper Center and UVA, as needed, on contract negotiations and recommended changes in any contract terms or conditions; develop a checklist for all hotel contract negotiations.
  • Consider the potential expansion of, and other modifications to, the annual summer seminars.
  • Make recommendations to the board regarding conference structure, fees, expenses, and scholarships and evaluate opportunities for cost savings.
  • Review and recommend ways to ensure quality speakers for all CLE presentations, including speakers from past conferences who presentations were poorly received, as indicated by conference evaluations and/or comments.
  • Undertake other tasks as may be assigned or approved by the board.

MEMBERS: CONFERENCE POLICY COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

APPOINTMENT TERM

Angela Lemmon Horan, Chair
ahoran@pwcgov.org
Ending 8.31.15
1st Term
Clarke Whitfield, Vice-Chair
whitfcc@ci.danville.va.us
Ending 8.31.14
1st Term
Haskell Brown
haskell.brown@richmondgov.com
Ending 8.31.15
1st Term

Helivi Holland

hholland@suffolkva.us

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term

Kelly Lackey

klackey@cityofchesapeake.net

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term

Grady Palmer

gpalmer@poolemahoney.com

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term

Pat Taves

ptaves@gtpslaw.com

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term

E.M. Wright, Jr.

emwright@buckinghamcounty.virginia.gov

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term

Lesa Yeatts

lyeatts@hampton.gov

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term
Adele MacLean
am7m@virginia.edu
Ex Officio