LGA CONFERENCE POLICY COMMITTEE

Mission statement

  • Consult with U.Va. and Cooper Center staff, as needed, on contract negotiations.
  • Review all conference hotel contracts.
  • Make recommendations to the LGA Board of Directors on various other conference policy issues.

ongoing objectives

  • Make recommendations to the board concerning LGA’s conference policies and procedures as set forth in the policies and procedures (P&P) catalogue.
  • Routinely review all future conference hotel contracts and consult with the Weldon Cooper Center and UVA, as needed, on contract negotiations and recommended changes in any contract terms or conditions; develop a checklist for all hotel contract negotiations.
  • Consider the potential expansion of, and other modifications to, the annual summer seminars.
  • Make recommendations to the board regarding conference structure, fees, expenses, and scholarships and evaluate opportunities for cost savings.
  • Review and recommend ways to ensure quality speakers for all CLE presentations, including speakers from past conferences who presentations were poorly received, as indicated by conference evaluations and/or comments.
  • Undertake other tasks as may be assigned or approved by the board.

For LGA Conference Policy Committee May 2014 Report, click here.

MEMBERS: CONFERENCE POLICY COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

APPOINTMENT TERM

Patrick J. Taves, Chair
Greehan, Taves, Pandak & stoner, PLLC
ptaves@gtpslaw.com
(703) 378-5770
Ends 12.31.17 1st
W.Clarke Whitfield Jr.
Vice Chair & board liaison 
City of Danville
clarke.whitfield@danvilleva.gov
434-799-5122
Ends 12.31.16 2nd
Haskell C. Brown III
City of Richmond
haskell.brown@richmondgov.com
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Kelly J. Lackey
City of Chesapeake
klackey@cityofchesapeake.net
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Lesa J. Yeatts
Town of Herndon
lesa.yeatts@herndon-va.gov
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Jan L. Proctor
City of Chesapeake
jproctor@cityofchesapeake.net

Ends 12.31.17 1st
Erin C. Ward
Fairfax County
erin.ward@fairfaxcounty.gov

Ends 12.31.17 1st
Lee Ann Anderson
Henrico County
and93@henrico.us
Ends 12.31.17 1st
Adele MacLean
LGA Conference Coordinator
U.Va. Cooper Center
am7m@virginia.edu
Ex Officio