LGA CONFERENCE POLICY COMMITTEE

Mission statement

  • Consult with U.Va. and Cooper Center staff, as needed, on contract negotiations.
  • Review all conference hotel contracts.
  • Make recommendations to the LGA Board of Directors on various other conference policy issues.

ongoing objectives

  • Make recommendations to the board concerning LGA’s conference policies and procedures as set forth in the policies and procedures (P&P) catalogue.
  • Routinely review all future conference hotel contracts and consult with the Weldon Cooper Center and UVA, as needed, on contract negotiations and recommended changes in any contract terms or conditions; develop a checklist for all hotel contract negotiations.
  • Consider the potential expansion of, and other modifications to, the annual summer seminars.
  • Make recommendations to the board regarding conference structure, fees, expenses, and scholarships and evaluate opportunities for cost savings.
  • Review and recommend ways to ensure quality speakers for all CLE presentations, including speakers from past conferences who presentations were poorly received, as indicated by conference evaluations and/or comments.
  • Undertake other tasks as may be assigned or approved by the board.

For LGA Conference Policy Committee May 2014 Report, click here.

MEMBERS: CONFERENCE POLICY COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

APPOINTMENT TERM

Angela M. Lemmon Horan, Chair,
Prince William County
ahoran@pwcgov.org
703-792-6620
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
W.Clarke Whitfield Jr.,
Vice Chair & board liaison,
City of Danville
clarke.whitfield@danvilleva.gov
434-799-5122
Ending 12.31.16
2nd Term
Haskell C. Brown III,
City of Richmond
haskell.brown@richmondgov.com
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Helivi L. Holland,
City of Suffolk
hholland@suffolkva.us

Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Kelly J. Lackey,
City of Chesapeake
klackey@cityofchesapeake.net
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Grady A. Palmer,
Poole Mahoney PC
gpalmer@poolemahoney.com
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
J. Patrick Taves,
Greehan, Taves, Pandak & Stoner PLLC
ptaves@gtpslaw.com

Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
E. M. Wright Jr.,
Buckingham County,
emwright@buckinghamcounty.virginia.gov

Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Lesa J. Yeatts,
City of Hampton
lyeatts@hampton.gov

Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Adele MacLean,
LGA Conference Coordinator,
U.Va. Cooper Center
am7m@virginia.edu
Ex Officio