LGA Publications Committee Mission statement

Mission statement

Oversee production and review of the LGA Handbook of Virginia Local Government Law (formerly the LGA Handbook for Local Government Attorneys), including new and revised chapters and annual chapter supplements produced by LGA’s contract editor. Tasks include: (a) advising the board regarding what chapters should be revised, added, or deleted from the handbook; (b) making recommendations to the board regarding the compensation requested by the contract editor; and (c) selecting and approving authors and reviewers for the handbook.

Serve as a sounding board for the National Legal Research Group, Inc. (NLRG) on issues affecting the LGA’s monthly newsletter, the Bill of Particulars, and advise the board, on request, on such issues.

When requested by the board, prepare (a) handbook budget estimates (revenues and expenses), working with the administrative director; and (b) handbook requests for proposals (RFPs) for editorial services, evaluating the proposals received and recommending a contractor for board selection.

Investigate special topics as requested by the board, such as the feasibility of using the services of a private publisher for the handbook.

Prepare special initiatives, as requested or approved by the board, such as a marketing plan for enlarging the audience for the handbook.

Develop, and periodically review and update, policies and procedures for handling all aspects of LGA's handbook production, submitting to the board of directors for approval and inclusion in the LGA's Policies and Procedures Catalogue.

MEMBERS: PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBER APPOINTMENT TERM
Dori E. Martin, Chair
Spotsylvania County
demartin@spotsylvania.va.us
540-507-7020
Ends 12.31.16 1st
Tara A. McGee
Vice Chair & Board liaison
Chesterfield County
mcgeet@chesterfield.gov
804-748-1491
Ends 12.31.16 2nd
Brandi A. Law
City of Hampton
brandi.law@hampton.gov
Ends 12.31.16 2nd
Lisa A. Robertson
City of Charlottesville
robertsonl@charlottesville.org
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Jeffrey S. Gore
Hefty Wiley & Gore
jeff@heftywiley.com
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Deborah K. Siegel
Prince William County
dsiegel@pwcgov.org
Ends 12.31.16 1st
Sheri A. Hiter
Elliott Lawson & Minor
sahiter@elliottlawson.com
Ends 12.31.17 1st
Elizabeth S. Chupik
City of Virginia Beach
echupik@vbgov.com
Ends 12.31.17 1st
Ruth Ellen Kuhnel
Roanoke County
rekuhnel@roanokecountyva.gov
Ends 12.31.17 1st
Patrick J. Skelley
Bedford County
p.skelley@bedfordcountyva.gov
Ends 12.31.17 1st
Susan Warriner Custer
LGA Administrative Director
susan.custer@lgava.org
Ex Officio
Billie E. Easton
Liaison to LGA, U.Va Cooper Center
bee2u@virginia.edu
Ex Officio