LGA Publications Committee Mission statement

Mission statement

Oversee production and review of the LGA Handbook of Virginia Local Government Law (formerly the LGA Handbook for Local Government Attorneys), including new and revised chapters and annual chapter supplements produced by LGA’s contract editor. Tasks include: (a) advising the board regarding what chapters should be revised, added, or deleted from the handbook; (b) making recommendations to the board regarding the compensation requested by the contract editor; and (c) selecting and approving authors and reviewers for the handbook.

Serve as a sounding board for the National Legal Research Group, Inc. (NLRG) on issues affecting the LGA’s monthly newsletter, the Bill of Particulars, and advise the board, on request, on such issues.

When requested by the board, prepare (a) handbook budget estimates (revenues and expenses), working with the administrative director; and (b) handbook requests for proposals (RFPs) for editorial services, evaluating the proposals received and recommending a contractor for board selection.

Investigate special topics as requested by the board, such as the feasibility of using the services of a private publisher for the handbook.

Prepare special initiatives, as requested or approved by the board, such as a marketing plan for enlarging the audience for the handbook.

Develop, and periodically review and update, policies and procedures for handling all aspects of LGA's handbook production, submitting to the board of directors for approval and inclusion in the LGA's Policies and Procedures Catalogue.

MEMBERS: PUBLICATION COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBER APPOINTMENT TERM
Lola Rodriguez-Perkins, Chair
lola.perkins@jamescitycountyva.gov
757.253.6614
Ending 8.31.14
2nd Term
Michelle Robl, Vice Chair
mrobl@pwcgov.org
Ending 8.31.14
2nd Term
John Blair II
jcblair@spotsylvania.va.us
Ending 8.31.15
2nd Term
Rob Eckstrom
rteckstrom@fredericksburgva.gov
Ending 8.31.15
2nd Term
Jeff Gore
jeff@heftywiley.com
Ending 8.31.15
1st Term
Brandi Law
blaw@spotsylvania.va.us
Ending 8.31.15
1st Term
Tara McGee
mcgeet@chesterfield.gov
Ending 8.31.14
2nd Term
Marissa Mitchell
mit06@co.henrico.va.us
Ending 8.31.14
2nd Term
Lisa Robertson
robertson1@charlottesville.org
Ending 8.31.15
1st Term
Steve Talevi
steve.talevi@roanokeva.gov
Ending 8.31.14
2nd Term
Susan Custer
custerfam5@aol.com
Ex Officio
Billie Easton
bee2u@virginia.edu
Ex Officio