Skip to content

LGA LAW SCHOOL LIAISON AND SCHOLARSHIPS COMMMITEE

MISSION STATEMENT

  • The Law School Liaison and Conference Scholarship Committee conducts outreach to promote the practice of Virginia local government law to future lawyers. Our goals are to build stronger relationships between the local government community and accredited law schools in the Commonwealth and the District of Columbia, to make students aware of our practice area as a career option, and to attract promising young lawyers to our localities and firms. Committee members act as a resource to their assigned law school for career services communications, student mentoring, career panels, and other committee initiatives. 

  • As a part of this mission, the committee administers a program that awards scholarships to law students and qualifying recent law school graduates seeking careers in local government law (fellows) to attend LGA conferences and regional seminars. Committee members serve as “buddies” for scholarship attendees to facilitate participation in CLE sessions and social events. The scholarship program provides a total of ten law student and two fellow scholarships per conference or seminar. 

 LGA Policy Guidelines for the Law School Liaison and Scholarships Committee

LAW SCHOOL LIAISON AND SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE

APPOINTMENT TERM

Sheri H. Kelly, chair
Office of the Attorney General
SKelly@oag.state.va.us
276-628-2964

Ending 12.31.18
2nd Term

Laura M. Carini, vice-chair
City of Roanoke
laura.carini@roanokeva.gov
540-853-2431

Ending 12.31.18
2nd Term

Karen E. Dottore
Henrico County
dot002@henrico.us
804-501-7184

Ending 12.31.19
1st Term

Maxwell C. Hlavin
James City County
Maxwell.Hlavin@jamescitycountyva.gov
757-253-6610

Ending 12.31.18
2nd Term

Denise M. Letendre 
Henrico County
let004@henrico.us
804-501-4337

Ending 12.31.18
2nd Term

Zachary A. Simmons
City of Norfolk
zachary.simmons@norfolk.gov
757-664-4529

Ending 12.31.18
2nd Term

Susan D. Stout
Arlington County
sstout@arlingtonva.us
703-228-3100

Ending 12.31.18
2nd Term

Mark A. Williams
Guynn & Waddell
markw@flyroa.com
540-362-1999
Ending 12.31.19
1st Term
Lesa J. Yeatts
Town of Herndon
lesa.yeatts@herndon-va.gov
703-787-7370
Ending 12.31.19
1st Term