LGA Ethics Committee

Mission statement

Develop CLE programs on legal ethics for LGA members.

Offer informal advice to LGA members on ethical issues; proactively survey and respond to LGA members' listserv inquiries that deal with ethics questions.

Anticipate ethical issues affecting local government law.

Review and recommend changes, when appropriate, to the Virginia Rules of Professional Conduct

Serve as liaison with the Virginia State Bar Department of Professional Regulation, its standing committees on (a) Legal Ethics and (b) the Unauthorized Practice of Law, and (c) any special committees studying revisions to the rules governing professional responsibility.

MEMBERS: ETHICS COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBER

APPOINTMENT TERM

Andrew H. Herrick, Chair
Albemarle County
aherrick@albemarle.org
434-972-4067
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Elizabeth D. Whiting, Vice-chair
Town of Lovettsville
lizwhiting745516@cs.com
703-777-6808
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Mark C. Popovich, Board liaison
Isle of Wight County
mpopovich@isleofwightus.net
757-365-1641
Ends 12.31.17 1st
James W. Elliott Jr.
Elliott Lawson & Minor P.C.
jelliott@elliottlawson.com
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Wahaj Memon
Prince William County
wmemon@pwcgov.org
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Patrick J. Skelley II
Bedford County 
p.skelley@bedfordcountyva.gov
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
Dan N. Whitten
Warren County
dwhitten@warrencountyva.net
Ends 12.31.17 2nd
John C. Blair
Albemarle County
jblair@albemarle.org
Ends 12.31.17 1st