LGA Ethics Committee

Mission statement

Develop CLE programs on legal ethics for LGA members.

Offer informal advice to LGA members on ethical issues; proactively survey and respond to LGA members' listserv inquiries that deal with ethics questions.

Anticipate ethical issues affecting local government law.

Review and recommend changes, when appropriate, to the Code of Professional Responsibility.

Serve as liaison with the Virginia State Bar Department of Professional Regulation, its standing committees on (a) Legal Ethics and (b) the Unauthorized Practice of Law, and (c) any special committees studying revisions to the rules governing professional responsibility.

MEMBERS: ETHICS COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBER

APPOINTMENT TERM

Michelle M . Gowdy, Chair
New Kent County
mmgowdy@newkent-va.us
804-966-8747
Ending 12.31.15
2nd Term
George McAndrews
Vice Chair & board liaison
City of Alexandria
george.mcandrews@alexandriava.gov
703-746-3750
Ending 12.31.15
2nd Term
James W. Elliott Jr. 
Elliott Lawson & Minor P.C.
jelliott@elliottlawson.com
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Andrew H. Herrick
Albemarle County
aherrick@albemarle.org
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Wahaj Memon
Prince William County
wmemon@pwcgov.org
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Patrick J. Skelley II
Bedford County 
p.skelley@bedfordcountyva.gov
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Elizabeth D. Whiting
Town of Lovettsville
lizwhiting745516@cs.com
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term
Dan N. Whitten
Warren County
dwhitten@warrencountyva.net
Ending 12.31.15
1st Term