LGA Amicus Briefs Committee

MISSION STATEMENT

Be responsible for determining the LGA’s participation as amicus curiae in certain circumstances when the litigation is generally significant to local government in Virginia, according to policy guidelines and procedures set forth by the LGA board of directors.

Facilitate the board's evaluation of the effectiveness of LGA's participation in the amicus curiae process by preparing and presenting to the board annually a summary of all cases in which LGA has participated as an amicus curiae, which summary shall include the author of the brief, the issue, and the results of each court case.

To see the LGA Policy Guidelines for the Amicus Committee, click here.

MEMBERS: AMICUS BRIEFS COMMITTEE
COMMITTEE MEMBER
APPOINTMENT TERM
Mark Popovich, Chair 

mpopovich@isleofwightus.net
757.365.1641
Ending 8.31.14

2nd Term
Timothy R. Spencer, Vice Chair (and board liaison)

timothy.spencer@roanokeva.gov
Ending 8.31.15

1st Term

Bobbi Jo Alexis 
balexis@spotsylvania.va.us

Ending 8.31.15

1st Term

Keith Bensten 
Kbensten@staffordcounty.va.gov

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term

Ellen Bowyer
eebowyer@countyofamherst.com

Ending 8.31.15

2nd Term

Cheran Cordell
cordellc@portsmouthva.gov

Ending 8.31.14
1st Term

Gail Marshall 
attorney@townoforangeva.org

Ending 8.31.15

1st Term

George McAndrews
george.mcandrews@alexandriava.gov

Ending 8.31.14
1st Term

Alan Smith
afsmith@co.stafford.va.us

Ending 8.31.14

2nd Term

George Sommerville
george.somerville@troutmansanders.com

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term

Lawrence Spencer
lspencer@blacksburg.gov

Ending 8.31.15
1st Term


Roger Wiley
roger@heftywiley.com

Ending 8.31.14
2nd Term

To view a chronological listing and brief summary of all cases in which the LGA has participated as amicus curiae, click here

Copies of the amicus curiae briefs filed by or on behalf of the LGA are available for viewing and downloading by clicking on the apropriate link below (but note that only filings after August 1, 2007 are available).

Boren v. Nw. Reg’l Jail Auth., Record No. 13-7695 (4th Cir., filed Mar. 21, 2014)
Bd. of Superv'rs of James City County v. Windmill Meadows LLC, Record No. 130210 (Va., filed July 22, 2013)

McBurney v. Young, No. 12–17 (U.S. Sup. Ct., filed Jan. 31, 2013)
Harmon v. Ewing
, Record No. 121118 (Va., filed Oct. 17, 2012)
Charlottesville Area Fitness Club Operators Ass'n v. Bd. of Superv'rs of Albemarle County
, No. 110741 (Va., filed Oct. 7, 2011)
Hill v. Fairfax County Sch. Bd.
, No. 111805 (Va. June 7, 2012)
McBurney v. Young
, Case No. 11-1099 (4th Cir., filed Apr. 21, 2011)
City of Lynchburg v. English Constr.
, Record No. 081344 (Va., filed Dec. 15, 2008)
Tanner v. City of Virginia Beach
, Record No. 080998 (Va., filed Dec. 11, 2008)
Comcast of Chesterfield County v. Bd. of Superv'rs for Chesterfield County
, Record No. 080946 (Va., filed Nov. 20, 2008)
Town of Blacksburg v. Bd. of Zoning Appeals of Town of Blacksburg
, Record No. 081001 (filed Oct. 20, 2008)
Bd. of Superv'rs of Stafford County v. Crucible, Inc.
, Record No. 081743 (Va., filed Feb. 23, 2009)
City of Lynchburg v. English Constr.
, Record No. 081344 (Va., filed July 14, 2008)
Virginia Baptist Homes v. Botetourt County
, Record No. 072042 (Va., filed May 2, 2008)
Lynchburg Div. Soc. Servs. v. Cook
, Record No. 071964 (Va., filed Dec. 15, 2008)
West Creek Assocs. v. County of Goochland
, Record No. 071411 (Va., filed Jan. 7, 2008)
City of Newport News, Va. v. Sciolino
, No. 07-159 (U.S., filed Nov. 9, 2007)
Logan v. City of Roanoke
, Record No. 070131 (Va., filed Aug. 13, 2007)