Advisory Committee

The Institute is advised by a committee of eighteen, appointed by the President of the University of Virginia. The committee comprises six members from local government, eight members at large, and four representatives of higher education.

The at-large members are appointed with the advice of the Governor, the Speaker of the House of Delegates, and the Chairman of the Senate Privileges and Elections Committee. The local government representatives are nominated by the Virginia Municipal League, Virginia Association of Counties, Virginia Local Government Management Association, Virginia Association of Locally Elected Constitutional Officers, and Local Government Attorneys of Virginia, Inc.

Members serve two-year terms. The Director of the Cooper Center serves on the committee ex officio.


Higher Education

Elsie M. Barnes, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Norfolk State University
James K. Conant, Professor Department of Public and International Affairs, George Mason University
Anne Moore, Associate Vice President, Learning Technologies, and Director, Information Technology Initiatives, Virginia Tech

Local Government

R. Michael Amyx, Executive Director, Virginia Municipal League
James D. Campbell, Executive Director, Virginia Association of Counties
Ray A. Conner, Commissoner of the Revenue, City of Chesapeake
Ed Daley, City Manager, City of Hopewell
James J. L. Stegmaier, County Administrator, Chesterfield County
Elizabeth D. Whiting, Town Attorney, Town of Lovettsville


Joe T. May, Member, Virginia House of Delegates
David A. Nutter, Member, Virginia House of Delegates
David J. Toscano, Member, Virginia House of Delegates

Ex Officio

John P. Thomas, Director, Cooper Center for Public Service